h1

The Wolfman (2010)

Thursday, 25. March 2010

The Wolfman is the remake of the 1941 movie. It was directed by Joe Johnston and stars Benicio Del Toro, Emily Blunt, Anthony Hopkins, Geraldine Chaplin and Hugo Weaving.

Plot:
After the mysterious disappearance and subsequent death, Lawrence Talbot (Benicio Del Toro) returns home for the first time in years. Home he finds his brother’s fiancée Gwen (Emily Blunt), his pretty psychopathic father (Anthony Hopkins) and a huge-ass monster that promptly attacks him…

You know, deadra summed this movie up with: “Huh?!-lol-eww-wtf-NEEDLES!!!-eww-lol-huh?!?-WTF?!??” which, minus the needles, is pretty much the perfect summary for me, too. This movie is bad, people. Really bad. But in some instances (unfortunately they are too few) it’s also curiously entertaining.

If you go into this movie, expecting it to be so bad, that it’s good (as did I), you’re going to be sorely disappointed – the movie is way too boring for that. [If you go into this movie, expecting it to be good, may god help you.] But there are some scenes that will make you lol. For me, the first one was when Lawrence stumbles upon Gwen after his brother’s funeral, as you do, in the middle on the woods, where she’s actually lounging. [And there's no other word to describe the way she's sprawled on the forest floor, in her funeral clothes nonetheless.] People, if stuff like that makes you laugh, you will get some comedy gold from this film. Unfortunately not enough to give this movie actual entertainment value.

And my goodness… Joe Johnston might actually be the worst director ever. After completely failing to establish any kind of atmosphere, creepy or otherwise, he at least noticed and decided to use noise to scare the audience instead.

Rarely have I seen such a loveless set design, btw. The empty, derelict mansion was supposed to be creepy, I guess, but it just seemed ridiculous. I kept asking myself why there were dead leaves in the hallway since, you know, there were 4 people living in this house and one of them was a servant…

And I haven’t even started to foam about the treatment of “gypsies” in this movie, or said servant. Racist does not even begin to describe this film. Incredible. [But I don't think that I have to go into any depth here. Just imagine every stereotype you've ever heard about them, magnified by 20.]

I have to say, I expected more of Emily Blunt and Benicio Del Toro (not of Anthony Hopkins, everybody knows that he will do anything for money). And unfortunately, not even Hugo Weaving managed to get much ham from his role…

Summarising, you can skip it and you will be a better person for it.

6 comments

  1. You are aware that Joe Johnston is at the helm of “Captain America”?

    (I weep for this poor, as-yet-unmade movie that never had much of a chance p.q )


    • Yes, I had heard that already.

      And I wept.


  2. Your review confirmed absolutely everything I’d guessed about this movie from trailers – thank you! You’ve saved me $15!


    • Always glad to be of service. Now, if only I could get my money back…


  3. the movie the wolfman hold a racist point of view aginst black people in a white comunety.
    whan the wolfman is good his colore are white but whan he become bad he’s colore become black. it’s sad to see it in 2010


    • It’s been a while that I saw the film but I got the impression that the black and white colors are less to do with race than with the general color mythology in Western culture. Especially since the lead is a POC himself.

      But I could be completely off about this.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

