h1

Kraken (China Miéville)

Wednesday, 26. January 2011

Kraken is the newest novel by China Miéville.

Plot:
Billy Harrow works in the Darwin Center. Among other things, he’s kinda responsible for a giant squid (in formaldehyde, of course) – which one day just vanishes from the museum. But that’s just the start of the weirdness in Billy’s life: he soon finds himself in the company of Dane, a believer of a squid cult Kraken Church, hunted by Goss and Subby – a more than macabre and scary duo in the employ of the Tattoo, the city’s mob boss – and desperately trying to avoid the end of the world that is connected to the vanished squid.

Kraken is a book that will sweep you off your feet and leave you completely breathless with its sheer inventiveness. Every time you think that you got the hang of everything, Miéville introduces a new idea, more or less mindblowing. It’s absolutely exhilarating.

Kraken is much more like Un Lun Dun than like The City and the City. It’s got the same phantastic invetion and the same sense of playfulness, though it doesn’t play with the genre conventions as much as Un Lun Dun did. It’s full of pop culture references. It’s funny and it seems like Miéville had his fun writing it. Take, for example, this scene:

“What was that squirrel?” Billy said.
“Freelancer,” Dane said.
“What? Freelance what?”
“Familiar.” Familiar. “Don’t look like that. Familiar. Don’t act like you’ve never heard of one.”
Billy thought of black cats. “Where is it now?”
“I don’t know, I don’t want to know. It did what I paid it for.” Dane did not look at him. “Job done. So it’s gone.”
“What did you pay it?”
“I paid it nuts, Billy. What would you think I’d pay a squirrel?” Dane’s face was so deadpan flat Billy could not tell if what he was facing was the truth or contempt. Welcome to this world of work. Magic animals got paid in something, nuts or something.

I absolutely loved it. There are just moments where I thought, “I never thought about things that way!” and the creativity of it all just blew me away.

The characters were wonderful – Dane, Wati, Kath… Billy is too much of a reader stand-in to achieve greatness, but I enjoyed him as well. And the villains were actually scary, especially Goss and Subby were creepy like hell. But also the Tattoo and his workshop… *shudder*

The book isn’t perfect, though. Towards the end, the narrative gets a little frayed and the ending isn’t that satisfying. Especially [SPOILER] Dane’s death, which should be heroic and everything and just isn’t. And Dane deserves better. [/SPOILER] Not to mention that the person behind it all was telegraphed from quite a distance.

As is usual for Miéville, he makes you work for what you read. But it is absolutely worth it.

7 comments

  1. i do need to give Kraken a try. I can’t get enough of Mieville’s Bas Lag books, and The City and THe City really didn’t do much for me. . . although I did love Un Lun Dun.


    • Yeah, I was underwhelmed by the City and the City as well. Not that I thought it was a bad book. Just not my coup of tea.
      I haven’t gotten around to the Bas Lag books yet, unfortunately. But they’re already on my bookshelf. :)


  2. [...] reviews: Kalafudra ; Book Geeks ; TwoBeatsOff ; Geek rage This entry was posted in Books and tagged 10 Stars, [...]


  3. I loved The City & The City, and I feel pretty sure that I will get around to every Mieville at some point. But so far, I’ve read just the one.


    • Yeah, I already own his complete works but I keep saving the Bas Lag books for a rainy day. :)


  4. I’m really close to finishing Kraken, and part of me honestly doesn’t want it to end.
    Though forty whole pages without Goss and Subby will be a little hard to get through. :( They’ve been the highlight of this book for me.
    …Not that the whole experience isn’t an awesome rollercoaster of fun! This is actually my first Mieville novel, and he’s already ranking in my top favorites. I’ll have to read more; do you have any recommendations?


    • Goss and Subby were brilliant-scary.

      As for recommendations: the novel that’s probably closest to Kraken in feeling is Un Lun Dun – but it’s a novel for young adults, so you gotta like that.

      If you’re into crime fiction, The City & the City will be your thing.

      And King Rat is a solid Urban Fantasy, though it’s very apparent that it’s a first novel.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

