h1

All Together Dead (Charlaine Harris)

Thursday, 29. September 2011

All Together Dead is the seventh book of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels (Southern Vampire Mysteries) by Charlaine Harris. [Here's my review of the other books.]

Plot:
After Hurricane Katrina and the ending of the last book, the queen Sophie-Anne and Louisiana are in a very precarious position that is supposed to be cleared up at the long-planned vampire convention. Sookie is asked along to use her telepathic abilities to the advantage of the queen, a dangerous situation. At least she isn’t completely alone Since the company boyfriend Quinn works for is organising the convention, he’s there, as are Eric and Bill as part of the queen’s entourage. The already tense situation gets even worse when a group of vampires from Arkansas gets murdered, which at first seemingly simplifies the queen’s life. But that doesn’t hold for long.

I didn’t care in the least for the happenings at the convention. But that’s nothing new. Generally I don’t think I can say much more about the quality of the series that I haven’t said before: the plots are a bit messy, I don’t understand Sookie lots of times, and there are enough cool characters to keep me reading.

Oh Sookie, your taste in men is so fucking questionable… Bill is still around (though, to your credit, there is at least no whining about getting together with him) and I just want to see a stake in his heart. And Quinn manages to top his usual unsexiness – the reason for which I have identified: in my head, he looks like Mr. Clean – by wearing an honest too goodness genie outfit. Now I’ll never be able to take him seriously again. Backstory or no backstory. At least Eric is still there and still important and awesome.

Also awesome: Pam, who finally gets a backstory in this one. And Amelia who is just a great character.

What I don’t get that much, though, was why Sookie was so extremely pissed at Andre. I mean, he doesn’t treat her well and he does try to force her, I’m not trying to belittle that. But Sookie gets continuously screwed by the supernaturals around her (pun only half-intended) and she really is especially angry and vengeful when it comes to Andre.

On a sidenote: we shortly see three people that were main characters in short stories by Harris before: Sean, Layla and Dahlia. It’s always nice when there are appearances like this.

The ending was very symbolic and all kinds of cheesy. The endings generally come dangerously close to “so bad it’s funny” territory.

Reading those books back to back makes me almost happy that I only own them up to number 8. I think I’ll need a break.

Summarising: Same old, same old.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

