h1

Jennifer’s Body (2009)

Tuesday, 17. July 2012

Jennifer’s Body
Director: Karyn Kusama
Writer: Diablo Cody
Cast: Amanda Seyfried, Megan Fox, Johnny Simmons, Adam Brody, J. K. Simmons, Amy Sedaris, Cynthia Stevenson, Chris Pratt

Plot:
Jennifer (Megan Fox) and Needy (Amanda Seyfried) have been best friends since about forever, even though by now Jennifer is the school’s most popular girl and Needy is kind of a geek. But everything changes when the two of them head to a concert by the up and coming band Low Shoulder. The band plans to insure their success by sacrificing a virgin – a plan that horribly backfires when they mistakenly think that Jennifer was one. Suddenly Needy finds herself with a pretty evil best friend.

I was one of the few people who were not utterly enchanted by Juno and also Jennifer’s Body didn’t convince me of Diablo Cody’s writing in general. That being said I did like this movie much better than I thought I would. Especially every time it got out its sense of humor.

Diablo Cody is funny. The script definitely has its moments and had me laughing a couple of times. Especially every time when Low Shoulder comes up – who knew that Adam Brody isn’t only pretty, but has nice comedic timing, too? But her dialogues only work in a very artificial way and sometimes I just wished for a little more natural charm.

But the cast was really nice. Both Amanda Seyfried and Megan Fox were brilliant in their roles and as usual I enjoyed the hell out of J. K. Simmons (and out of the 5 seconds of Chris Pratt). The soundtrack was also really nice.

But the whole time I felt like the movie was trying to tell me something about gender politics and about sex but every attempt at cohesive interpretation falls apart. I mean, both Jennifer and Needy are fully in charge of their sexuality, which is great. And Jennifer’s lack of virginity saves her life, but it also makes her evil. And when Needy sleeps with her boyfriend, she gets disturbing visions and it just looks extremely uncomfortable. Which is not exactly sex-positive. I enjoyed the damsel of distress reversal though, where the damsel is Needy’s boyfriend (but it would also be nice to not have a damsel at all at one point).

The most satisfying part of it though is the way Jennifer’s and Needy’s friendship works. It’s a difficult relationship and not one I would describe as completely healthy but it’s an intriguing one that’s interesting to explore.

Summarising: Decent.

4 comments

  1. I can’t understand how they could have made Amanda Seyfried “nerdy” :-/ . And this was written by the same buy as Juno? Really? I loved Juno but heard nothing good about this movie (other than appreciative comments from certain men about its lingering shots of Megan Fox)… maybe I should give it a try.


    • It’s not like you can’t miss it. But it’s watchable. And yes, Diablo Cody wrote both Juno and Jennifer’s Body. She’s not a guy, though. ;)

      Amanda Seyfried is nerdy because she wears glasses. And a ponytail! Duh. (I actually just accidentally typed Sexyfried, that probably says it all…)


      • Ok, should not have assumed that :) . Diablo doesn’t actually sound like anything, I guess.

        I saw the movie and was not really impressed. And that intense closeup on Amanda Seyfried making out with Megan Fox was weird! Titillating, but weird as well.


        • I found that scene more weird than titillating. But then, girls making out is usually not so much my thing. ;)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

