h1

Je préfère qu’on reste amis [Let's Stay Just Friends] (2005)

Sunday, 13. January 2013

Je préfère qu’on reste amis [there's no official English translation. But it does mean "I want us to be just friends" or "let's stay just friends"]
Director: Olivier Nakache, Eric Toledano
Writer: Olivier Nakache, Eric Toledano
Cast: Jean-Paul Rouve, Gérard Depardieu, Annie Girardot, Yves Jacques

Plot:
Claude (Jean-Paul Rouve) is extremely shy and therefore also perpetually single. But his life changes drastically when he meets Serge (Gérard Depardieu) who crashed a wedding Claude was invited to. Serge crashes weddings regularly to pick up women. He also uses a dating service to meet even more women, run by Germain (Yves Jacques) – which is where he meets Claude again and decides to take him under his wing. Their new friendship has a deep effect on both of them.

Je préfère qu’on reste amis is the kind of film that you find in the special offer DVD box (or, in my case, my parents’ DVD shelf who found it in the special offer DVD box) and that it also pretty much where it belongs. It’s nice, but nothing more.

The movie does have its funny moments, though mostly it is too deeply entrenched in clichés to really make me laugh. I really enjoyed the scenes at Germain’s agency that are wonderfully absurd. Unfortunately, the ending then really overdid it with [SPOILER] that chase to New York. [/SPOILER] That seemed only done because they still had some budget to throw out.

Budget they should have probably used to invest in better picture quality. Just judging on the images alone I thought that the movie was about 10 years older than it is. (Though admittedly, it was also because Gérard Depardieu looked so much younger than he does now.)

But mostly the film does work. Especially because both Gérard Depardieu and Jean-Paul Rouve are really good and their friendship is believable. And Annie Girardot was great as Claude’s mother. Could have stood to see more of her.

In the end, I don’t think that the movie was made for me. It was a very male film about male friendship and while I can relate, it just isn’t my major topic of interest.

Summarising: Okay.

5 comments

  1. Thanks for your recommendation of First Law, I’m already through with book I. A crumbling empire, power and intrigues, all in a
    fantasy setting – what’s not to like. I also liked the (realistic)
    idea that people do things without really knowing their motivation or
    purpose themselves.
    Though I must say that both the fighting and the torture scenes are too long. And the book could do with a few more positive characters. I liked West very much, why did he have to batter his sister?

    PS: I never know if it is impolite comment unrelated to the actual posting. If so, let me know. :)


    • If you’re looking for positive.characters, you definitely shouldn’t read abercrombie…

      I’m glad you liked it, though. ;)

      And you can comment wherever you like. Old posts, new posts, I don’t mind either way. :)

      (alright there is a tiny part of me that would prefer it if you searched for the appropriate topic and comment there, but it’s really not important.


  2. I wasn’t sure if you read comments on older postings (I never did on my blog), that’s why I didn’t do that in the first place. I am now going to search for the appropriate posting/review, no prob. :)


    • I get notified of every comment twice and I read them all, no matter the post. So knock yourself out. ;)


      • Yeah. :D



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

