h1

Safe House (2012)

Monday, 4. February 2013

Safe House
Director: Daniel Espinosa
Writer: David Guggenheim
Cast: Denzel Washington, Ryan Reynolds, Vera Farmiga, Brendan Gleeson, Sam Shepard, Liam Cunningham

Plot:
Matt (Ryan Reynolds) is in a charge of a CIA Safe House in South Africa. Which means that he spends most of his time sitting around an empty house and being bored, hoping for a promotion or some kind of action. But that changes when rogue and recently apprehended agent Tobin Frost (Denzel Washington) is brought in. As if an actual guest in his Safe House wasn’t enough excitement, they are attacked right after Tobin’s arrival. And suddenly Matt finds himself in deeper shit than he ever hoped for.

Safe House was amazingly and deeply boring. It’s amazing that a movie with so much actual action can be so unexciting.

safe-house

I swear that I watched this film. All of it. I didn’t fall asleep, nor did I leave the room. Despite that I couldn’t tell you exactly what  happened. I think at some point, my brain just went on strike because I wouldn’t turn off the film. But I have to admit the plot was the most outstanding thing about the film – at the same time confusing and opaque AND completely predictable.

At least there were Vera Farmiga and Brendan Gleeson, though they were totally underused and had to play one-dimensional stereotypes.

safe-house1

And even though I saw it all, I really don’t have anything to say about the film. It’s a maybe-slightly-lower-than-average action movie that ends up being way too boring.

safe-house2

Summarising: Meh.

2 comments

  1. Have you heard of the anthology “dangerous women” (joe abercrombie, george rr martin etc)? :)


    • Yes, I did! It sounds awesome but unfortunately you can’t pre-order it yet and there’s no publishing date yet.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

