h1

Bachelorette (2012)

Saturday, 23. February 2013

Bachelorette
Director: Leslye Headland
Writer: Leslye Headland
Based on: Leslye Headland’s play
Cast: Kirsten Dunst, Lizzy Caplan, Isla Fisher, Rebel Wilson, Adam Scott, James Marsden, Hayes MacArthur, Kyle Bornheimer

Plot:
Regan (Kirsten Dunst), Gina (Lizzy Caplan), Katie (Isla Fisher) and Becky (Rebel Wilson) have been friends since high school, though only Becky and Regan see each other regularly. Now Becky is about to get married to Dale (Hayes MacArthur), so she asks the three other women to be her bridesmaids. Regan organizes everything, even though she is more jealous of than happy for Becky. Gina and Katie, too, look more forward to seeing each other and Regan than to see Becky married. The night before the wedding, things come to a head.

I was unsure whether I would like Bachelorette. I was afraid that it would be like Bridesmaids which wasn’t my cup of tea. To my surprise, I pretty much ended up loving Bachelorette.

bachelorette

As the movie started I was afraid that all my doubts about this film had come true. I began to wonder how I would get through this film with three such unlikeable main characters. But as the movie continued, the women continued to grow on me. So much so, that I didn’t even mind the overly sweet ending because I did want them to be happy, at least a little bit.

I just loved Leslye Headland’s script. It was funny and snarky, but also a little bitter. It was completely honest and really smart. There were a couple of moments where I just wanted to stand up and applaud. But most of all, I just enjoyed the relationships these women had with each other and in the end, I did enjoy the characters, as deeply flawed as they were. Women in film are not allowed to be flawed enough and this film really rectifies that, as far as it can.

bachelorette1

The cast was excellent, too. I don’t know what’s happening that Kirsten Dunst continues to be so good, but keep up the good work, I guess? It’s clear why Rebel Wilson exploded so quickly – she’s amazing. And Lizzy Caplan and Isla Fisher are great, too. But I also enjoyed the guys. Adam Scott, of course, is always brilliant. And it was interesting to see James Marsden play an asshole, since he usually only gets to be the nice-even-too-nice guy.

It’s good that every once in a while, when you give a movie you have your doubts about a chance, you get surprised by it hitting all the right notes and it being more perfect than you could have imagined. That is exactly what happens here.

bachelorette2

Summarising: watch it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

