h1

City of Bones (Cassandra Clare)

Tuesday, 19. March 2013

City of Bones is the first book in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

Plot:
One night at a club, Clary stumbles upon three teenagers – Jace, Alec and Isabelle – who kill a boy they claim is a demon. She calls her best friend Simon for help, but neither he, nor the club security can see the perpetrators or the victim. The next day, Clary runs into Jace again and she receives a frantic phone call from her mom, telling her not to go back home again. Then her mom goes missing and Clary finds herself in over her head in a world that is suddenly filled with magic and demons, and intriguing Jace.

City of Bones is an engaging read with a nice sense of humor, but it’s also way too predictable. But if you’re looking for the next young adult fantasy fix, you could do much worse.

Clare_CityofBones

Clary is a sweet girl and also an actual, proper teenager – with all the egotism that entails. That is not always the greatest thing. Sometimes I just wanted to lecture her a bit and tell her to pull herself together. Especially when she once more forgot Simon. Seriously, the dude is her best friend and I think she says three times something like “oh no, I completely forgot Simon!”

But I still liked her. And I loved Simon. Jace, on the other hand, is not so much my cup of tea. I was never one for the dark, abrasive, brooding dudes – and he is just that. But it was okay. At least he had a sharp sense of humor that I enjoyed.
Alec and Isabelle were quite alright, though they were still lacking a couple dimensions. And I enjoyed the hell our of Magnus – I hope we get to see more of him.

The plotting was the book’s weakest point. [SPOILERS] The reveal towards the end that Jace and Clary are actually siblings just pushed things unnecessarily into icky territory. It was also really predictable: the minute that they mention that Clary’s mom had had a boy before Clary, it’s clear that it was Jace. It meant that I had to cringe my way through large portions of the book. And that Valentine is Clary’s father is also painfully obvious. And the whole “Valentine pretended to be Michael Wayland” thing seemed unlikely, to say the least. I really had trouble believing that. [/SPOILERS]

But I thought that the general mood of the book and the characters made up for that. Plus, the Silent Brothers, the tattoos and much about the world building was really cool.

Summarising: Enjoyable, though not great. But I’ll continue reading.

5 comments

  1. I’m looking for a fluffy young adult book. :) Can you lend me the book? :)

    … Plus: I’ve finished pride and prejudice and quite liked it (though I still don’t understand why so many people obsess over Darcy).

    There’s a thing that just came to my mind:
    Should we re-do “LG”-weekend in summer? And should we focus on female characters?


    • Of course I can. The first three books of the series, in fact. :)

      I would love a LG weekend! And I have to come down to visit you soon. Maybe in April some time?


  2. By all means you must come! Just give me a call. (mobile: damaged. call A or write mail.)


  3. [...] City of Ashes is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. [Here's my review of the first book.] [...]


  4. […] Mortal Instruments: City of Bones Director: Harald Zwart Writer: Jessica Postigo Based on: Cassandra Clare’s novel Cast: Lily Collins, Jamie Campbell Bower, Robert Sheehan, Kevin Zegers, Jemima West, Robert […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

