h1

Beautiful Creatures (Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl)

Monday, 22. April 2013

Beautiful Creatures is the first novel in the Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Plot:
Ethan Wate lives in the small South Carolina town of Gatlin. Ever since his mother’s death, his father pretty much hasn’t left his room and Ethan depends on their housekeeper Amma. He dreams of college and leaving. But recently he’s been having strange dreams of a girl. And then Lena shows up at his school. She’s the niece of the town’s supposed madman Macon Ravenwood. Ethan feels an instant connection with Lena, even recognizes her as the girl he dreamt about. But even more crazy things happen around and to Lena, and time is running out for her.

Beautiful Creatures is nice. It’s not a must read and I’m not itching to continue the series, but maybe I will. We’ll see.

beautiful creatures

I have to admit that it irritated me at first that the book was told from Ethan’s perspective. Usually all these young adults supernatural novels about teenagers are written from the female perspective. And it just took me a chapter to realize what was going on.

But once I was used to that, Beautiful Creatures was a nice and rather quick (for its length) read. It’s not an amazing book but it’s pretty nice. It’s clinging a little too hard to clichés (Amma, for example) and I didn’t really like the non-resolution of the ending.

But Garcia and Stohl fight very hard to enable Lena to make her own decisions, despite the entire predestined thing. And I appreciated that a lot. And it has the most amazing library (though it also has Marian the Librarian, which is … unfortunate).

I think that if I had read this as a teenager, I would have loved it much more than I did now. Maybe I’m a little too old for it now. But fact is, it just didn’t resonate with me that much.

Summarising: Ok.

One comment

  1. [...] Creatures Director: Richard LaGravenese Writer: Richard LaGravenese Based on: Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl’s novel Cast: Alden Ehrenreich, Alice Englert, Jeremy Irons, Viola Davis, Emmy Rossum, Thomas Mann, Emma [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

