h1

Re-Watch: Despicable Me (2010)

Monday, 8. July 2013

Despicable Me
Director: Pierre Coffin, Chris Renaud
Writer: Cinco Paul, Ken Daurio
Cast: Steve Carell, Jason Segel, Russell Brand, Julie Andrews, Will Arnett, Kristen Wiig, Jemaine Clement, Jack McBrayer, Danny McBride, Mindy Kaling, Ken Jeong
[Here's my first review.]

Plot:
Gru (Steve Carell) is a super-villain whose best days are past. When he hatches a plan to steal the moon with the help of a shrink ray, all that’s missing is the necessary cash for the operation. So he goes down to the Bank of Evil – and is denied credit. When Gru tries to follow through with his plan on his own, he is bested by Vector (Jason Segel), the nerdy new kid on the supervillain block. Since Gru is unable to recover the shrink ray, he makes a new plan: Vector has a weakness: cookies. So Gru adopts three little girls and sends them to his house to sell him some. But what Gru didn’t expect was that he’d start to like the little girls.

When I saw Despicable Me for the first time, I wasn’t very excited about it. Now that I re-watched it, I’m still not. Yes, it’s sweet and the minions are awesome, but it just feels so run of the mill that it doesn’t really get anywhere.despicable_me

I’m not exactly sure why I have such a meh reaction to this movie. There are loads of things about it that are pretty good. First of all, the minions are made of win. They are fun and cute and I will never be able to tell them apart but it doesn’t really matter. They crack me up.

I do like the girls. I like that they are so different and still close to each other. I like that Edith gets to be a tomboy and is still allowed to like pink and ballet (while conversely Agnes loves unicorns and blue). I just like Margo, period. And they are really cute.

despicable_me1

But I don’t really know what to do with Gru. He’s just such a cliché. And Vector is so annoying I want to strangle him. And not in the fun “destroy the villain” way, more in the exasperated “get out of this movie” way.

Last time I saw the movie in German, this time I saw it in English. And I was completely irritated by the fact that apart from Jack McBrayer, nobody of the cast really sounded like themselves. I mean, I know I’m bad with voices but I didn’t even recognize the voices where I knew who was speaking. And that was really weird.

There was just something missing in general, even if I can’t put my finger on what it was exactly.

despicable_me2

Summarising: Maybe with Despicable Me 2 they find their footing.

One comment

  1. […] Me 2 Director: Pierre Coffin, Chris Renaud Writer: Ken Daurio, Cinco Paul Sequel to: Despicable Me Cast: Steve Carell, Kristen Wiig, Benjamin Bratt, Miranda Cosgrove, Russell Brand, Ken Jeong, Steve […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

