h1

We’re the Millers (2013)

Saturday, 7. September 2013

We’re the Millers
Director: Rawson Marshall Thurber
Writer: Bob Fisher, Steve Faber, Sean Anders, John Morris
Cast: Jennifer Aniston, Jason Sudeikis, Emma Roberts, Will Poulter, Ed Helms, Nick Offerman, Kathryn Hahn, Molly C. Quinn, Luis Guzmán, Mark L. Young

Plot:
David (Jason Sudeikis) is a drug dealer. When he gets robbed, his boss Brad Gurdlinger (Ed Helms) asks him to go to Mexico and pick up some weed to bring back to the US as repayment. To get across the border unquestioned, David has the idea to get Kenny (Will Poulter), a naive boy who lives in the same building, Casey (Emma Roberts), a young runaway and Rose (Jennifer Aniston), a stripper who also lives in the building, to pose as his family. And so the four find themselves on a road trip that takes some surprising turns.

I hadn’t actually planned to see this film. It didn’t seem like something I was into. But my sister asked me to go with her and, well. And I have to say that the film was not as bad as I thought it would be from the trailer (which featured mainly stripping Jennifer Aniston). It’s not a great movie, but it didn’t hurt to watch it, either.

we-re-the-millers

There were several scenes that I did like a lot. Most of them involved Nick Offerman (that man is so brilliant) and Kathryn Hahn (why she’s an eternal supporting actress I’ll never understand). But most were a little too dumb or a little too simple to really work for me (like the swollen balls that are supposed to be funny because swollen balls). And some were just really, really weird (like that kissing scene where Kenny is just passed around between Casey and Rose and nobody bothers to ask whether he actually wants that, because a boy has to like kissing every woman or something).

But it was far from as sexist as the trailer made it seem and none of the jokes really made me cringe. And it’s sad but it is the truth: that is something that only rarely happens in these kinds of comedies.

we-re-the-millers1

Apart from Nick Offerman and Kathryn Hahn, I especially enjoyed the performances of Will Poulter (he’s really got something going there) and Mark L. Young (who was the perfect caricature of the role he had in the best forgotten Movie 43). Ed Helms also hammed it up, which is always appreciated. But Jason Sudeikis and Jennifer Aniston remained a little colorless, though not as much as Emma Roberts.

I just wish that I could have traveled with the Fitzgeralds (Offerman, Hahn, Quinn) instead.

we-re-the-millers2

Summarizing: I guess it was never in the cards that this movie gets more than a passable from me, but it does get that.

2 comments

  1. Good review.

    I too was not especially “into” seeing this movie. I went to a drive-in actually, so it was one of two. I thought it would be fine, but enough of the movie was a little too gross for me to even moderately enjoy it as a whole.

    The kissing scene you mentioned made me insanely uncomfortable. Even more so because the crowd around me was in stitches over it. I was like, really? A not terribly clever incest-suggestive make-out fest is sidesplittingly milk-through-your-nose funny? Am I that out of touch?


    • I do wonder about that with myself, too. Because the crowd around me obviously loved the scene, too. And I just thought that not only was the incest-y angle icky, the consent was dubitable as well (Rose never actually asks whether Kenny wants to kiss her, Dave never asks anybody whether they want to be filmed at all). Haha, very funny.

      But I guess we can be out of touch together if that it’s what it is… :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

