h1

Annie Leibovitz: A Photographer’s Life 1990-2005

Monday, 18. January 2010

Annie Leibovitz: A Photographer’s Life 1990-2005 is an exhibition currently in the Kunst Haus Vienna (until Febuary 21st). It shows photographs by Annie Leibovitz (SURPRISE!), a mixture between personal photographs of her family and herself and a bit of a “best of” of her professional life.

The exhibition is rather short – I think it took us 90 minutes to walk through, rather slowly, which is, honestly, the perfect length. You get to see everything and you don’t feel like your brain has been mircrowaved. The focus is more on Leibovitz’ private life (I think it’s the first exhibition to actually show private photos by and of her) than her professional life, which left me torn. On the one hand, it’s always kinda interesting to snoop in other people’s lives. On the other hand, it made me feel a little uneasy, like I was not supposed to see those pictures (I know that that’s a little ridiculous). I think next time, I’ll stick to exhibitions of her wonderful professional photos and leave it at that.

Anyway, after the jump, my favourite pictures:

Mikhail Baryshnikov* and Rob Besserer

Leibovitz’ father and brother. It’s amazing how those two look alike.

Nicole Kidman

Daniel Day-Lewis

Queen Elizabeth II

Leonardo DiCaprio

Judi Dench and Helen Mirren

Well, there’ve been plenty more awesome pictures, but I think I’ll leave it at that.

*I recently saw White Nights and Baryshnikov is like super-sexy. I just had to say this because it surprised the hell out of me. Don’t ask why I was so surprised. Probably because I’ve never really seen him dance before. Anyway. Wow.

2 comments

  1. she’s a very talented photographer


    • oh yes, that she is.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

