Top 10: Kinks Songs

As threatened promised last week, I had to do a separate list for songs by The Kinks as well. Because if there’s one 60s bands that can challenge The Beatles as most awesomest band, it’s The Kinks. Even though they’re the lesser known band. They can also challenge them for the worst haircut in a group (for a single person, it’s either Anthon Chigurh or Prince Valiant), but that’s entirely besides the point.

I grew up with a mother who grew up in the late 60s and is an ardent pop music fan. That made a huge impression of course. But for some reason, the Kinks – besides the usual songs – never hit her radar much. So, I guess, my pubescent rebellion was to say that the Kinks are my favourite band. Kinda pathetic rebellion, I know. I mean, I could have really rebelled and said that I hated music, but that would have meant a life without music and what fun is that? So I had this phase where I’d listen to them non-stop. 

Anyway, I’m not really going anywhere with this story, so let’s just enjoy the Kinks. Like with The Beatles, I’ll give you my favourite lines, but this time, I’ll also add a video. It was kind of sad last week, with only the lyrics.

10. Tired of Waiting For You

I was a lonely soul
I had nobody till I met you
But you keep-a me waiting
All of the time
What can I do?

9. 20th Century Man

I’m a paranoid schizoid product of the twentieth century.

8. Death of a Clown

The old fortune teller lies dead on the floor
Nobody needs fortunes told anymore
The trainer of insects is crouched on his knees
And frantically looking for runaway fleas

7. Set Me Free

I don’t want no one,
If I can’t have you to myself.
I don’t need nobody else.
So if I can’t have you to myself,
Set me free.

6. Waterloo Sunset

Every day I look at the world from my window
But chilly, chilly is the evening time
Waterloo sunset’s fine

5. Sunny Afternoon

Help me, help me, help me sail away,
Well give me two good reasons why I oughta stay.
’cause I love to live so pleasantly,
Live this life of luxury,
Lazing on a sunny afternoon.

4. All Day and All of the Night

The only time I feel alright is by your side.

3. You Really Got Me

See, don’t ever set me free
I always wanna be by your side
Girl, you really got me now
You got me so I can’t sleep at night

2. Apeman

I think I’m so educated and I’m so civilized
cos I’m a strict vegetarian

1. Lola

[SPOILER]Girls will be boys and boys will be girls
Its a mixed up muddled up shook up world except for Lola.
[/SPOILER]*

*Yes, this is the first – and I think only – song where I feel the need for spoiler tags. And yes, I feel kind of stupid for it.

8 comments

  1. Yay…now I know 10 Kinks songs instead of just 4.
    Your blog is educational.

    My music rebellion consists of hating Elvis and Neil Diamond … and denying the fact that I know any (*cough* most *cough*) Lloyd-Webber’s musicals by heart.
    For some reason, I think you got the better deal.

    • I try my best. :) And it’s worth to know a lot of Kinks songs. A lot.

      Somehow I think I got the better deal as well. Seeing as I didn’t have to exclude anything – I just added another band. ;)

      Elvis is good as well. You should give him another try. And Neil Diamond has some good songs…

      • Naw. Firstly, it’s a matter of principle, obviously. And secondly, neither Elvis nor Neil are really my cup of tea. I keep giving Elvis tries (it’s not as if there’s any chance of excaping him while remaining on this planet, anyway), but we just don’t get along.

        Still…my father’s efforts to pass on his pop culture predelictions haven’t been entirely fruitless. I got the Spaghetti Western references in “3:10 To Yuma”. And I luuuuurve the Rat Pack (and all things Swing, in general).

        • True. Escaping Elvis is practically impossible. Point taken.

          Yeah, I was very impressed with your knowledge of Spaghetti Westerns. Very impressed.

          You know that my knowledge of Swing is rather limited. But what I know I like. I just never find the time to get to know it better.

  2. I’m gonna have to agree with most of your Kink choices. On the imaginary list of the top 10 best rock songs of all time, there would be at least one song by the Kinks!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.