Movie Meme – Meme Monday

[taken from here.]

I wasn’t sure if I hadn’t yet done this one – but some quick searches suggest that I haven’t. In any case, if I am repeating myself, I guess it won’t be the first time.

Name a film that you have seen more than 10 times.

Clueless. I had a very obsessed phase, but I actually still think that it’s a pretty great movie. Sense and Sensibility (the Emma Thompson version), which is my go-to romantic movie and which I’ve probably seen a gazillion times. All the to-me-important Disney movies (The Lion King, The Little Mermaid, The Beauty and the Beast, Robin Hood etc). Pretty much any movie I’ve seen as a kid I’d watch over and over again if I liked it.

Name a film that you’ve seen multiple times in the cinema.

There’s Titanic (which I’ve seen twice), Clash of the Titans (twice), Tangled (twice), The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (three times), The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (twice). And I think that’s a comprehensive list of all films I’ve seen multiple times in the cinema. [Actually, I’m not sure any more if I didn’t see Moulin Rouge! twice, too.]

Name an actor that would make you more inclined to see a film.

There are quite a few actors and actresses that will get me to go to the cinema and even more where I’ll watch a film at home just because they’re in it. But this and this are starts. Then I’d add Sam Rockwell, Natalie Portman, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jake Gyllenhaal, Gemma Arterton, James MacAvoy, …

Name an actor that would make you less likely to see a film.

I’m staying far, far, far away from any project that includes Rob Schneider in any way, shape or form [if I don’t, it’s usually by mistake or because somebody else is involved that I just love too much]. Adam Sandler and Mike Myers usually get the same reaction, but do have some redeeming quality [Punch Drunk Love/Shrek or 54]. And I’m really starting to get fed up with Michael Cera. Arrested Development cred only gets you so far (the same goes for Jason Bateman, btw).
As for actresses – Lindsay Lohan, Britney Spears, Paris Hilton and other women [and it is mostly women] that get famous for something other than acting, then get cast in movies for their celebrity status and not any actual talent annoy me, but I will bear with them, if I have to (which I usually don’t). There’s no actual actress I can think of that sends me screaming as Rob Schneider does.

Name a film that you can and do quote from.

Sometimes I think that there’s hardly a movie I don’t quote from. But frontrunners surely are the Lord of the Rings movies. Alexander is also very quotable (to ridicule it), as is 300 (for its pathos). The Princess Bride, of course. And very many TV shows.

Name a film musical that you know all of the lyrics to all of the songs.

I learn lyrics quickly and easily and with gusto. So, the list is long. There’s The Rocky Horror Picture Show, Hair, The Lion King, Moulin Rouge, Doctor Horrible, that one Buffy musical episode (THEY GOT THE MUSTARD OUT), and I know pretty much all the lyrics to Chicago. And that’s just off the top of my head. I’m sure that I’m forgetting something. 

Name a film that you would recommend everyone see.

Good grief, I can never choose only one. Start here. Come back when you’re done with that list.

Ever walked out of a film?

No. But I was this closed with The Boat That Rocked. [I fell asleep a couple of times in the cinema, though.]

Name a film that made you cry in the cinema.

Only one? The last was Hereafter. Which I didn’t particularly like, but still. Crybaby.

Popcorn?

Yes, please. Though I’m usually too cheap to buy it.

How often do you go to the cinema (as opposed to renting them or watching them at home)?

2-3 times a week I’d say. And I watch about 1-2 movies a week at home.

What’s the last film you saw in the cinema?

Tron Legacy. [Which probably won’t be true anymore at the time of posting this.]

What’s your favourite/preferred genre of film?

Oh boy. Fantasy. Science Fiction. Horror. Some romance. Historicals. Book adaptations. Combinations thereof. The only genre I don’t care very much for is crime/police procedurals. But even there, I’ll gladly make exceptions if the film is good enough.

What’s the first film you remember seeing in the cinema?

I’ve always been going to the cinema. I don’t remember the first time I went or even remember a first movie. I’m pretty sure that I saw Home Alone in the cinema – and that was pretty early.

What film do you wish you had never seen?

The most recent film I wish I’d never seen is Klimt.

What is the scariest film you’ve seen?

The Ring. The American version. I still didn’t watch the Japanese version because I’ll probably pee my pants.

If you could be any character portrayed in a movie, who would it be?

Huh… good question. Not a specific character but I think I’d have fun playing a ass-kicking woman like most of the characters Angelina Jolie picks to play. [One of the reasons I really like her as an actress.]

Total number of films you own on DVD and video.

I don’t know. I never counted them and I didn’t yet get around to do for my DVD collection what librarything did to my book collection: organise them online. But I’m guessing around 300, 400 or somesuch number.

Last film you bought.

Oh boy. I recently bought Capote, but I bought it together with a couple of other films I can’t recall right now.

Last film you watched.

Also Tron: Legacy. But I’m planning a movie evening, so this will probably have changed in a few hours.

Five films that mean a lot to you.

There are many films that mean many different things to me. There’s hardly a film I’ve seen that doesn’t mean anything to me and there are a few films I haven’t seen that still mean something to me.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.